Scramble the Sky

The morning starts with a new blank page in the sky. And I taste my lips are bleeding. And I run to my room. I see them on the mirror. They’re bleeding. I wipe the blood and it really hurts. My mother runs closer to me.

“What is going on, dear?” why are you running?” asks mom in worried tone.

“It is okay mom, I just coincidentally bite my lips while bitting the bread” my smile is curving. Then, mom leaves the room as if she is getting the wrong gossip, leave with getting nothing.

I sit on my bed. Still staring on the mirror. I try to remember what happened last night. With the angel. The kiss and the warmth that she gave. I look at the mirror again, stare the sky then the sun shines so brightly through my window as if saying to remember me to scramble the sky as soon as possible for the angel. Ah! I run faster than ever.  I run and I ask.

“Dear my angel, were you on my dream last night? You bit my lips, eh? It is okay. Pain is only making me stronger” and I will scramble the sky right now. I put pink crayon and paint the words.

“Because only the sky that can calm me… and also my heart” big grin I throw to the sky. Then my mother is coming with a glass of milk for me.

“Dayu, Dayu should drink the milk, it is getting colder”

“Thank you, mother” I take the glass and drink it till the last drop.

“Dayu, are you okay? Why are you always running to the garden and act as if you paint—“

“Ah! I scramble the sky” I interrupt her.

“Ye..yeah. like you scramble the sky”

“I scramble. Mom, can’t you see there?” I point my finger to the sky but it is gone simultaneously. I know what it is. I know that my angel does not let mother know about this affair. I know that my angel erases the scramble. My mother looks at me with confused and sad look to me. She walks me in to the house.

It is Sunday, and it is holiday. I like being at home. So, I take my paper and I am back to my room. I write. Mother always checks me every minute and bring any foods and drinks to me. Mother persuades me to go out from the room to watch movies or walk out to the mall. But, I am not interested in that at all.

until the night is coming and I prepare to go to sleep. I lay my body and I stare the roof. My mother is coming again and checking me up, I close my eyes right away.

“Sweety, are you asleep?” I don’t answer and she turns off the lamp and goes out.

I start to wait my angel to come and accompany me to go to sleep. Like a couple. I start missing her right after she left me after the kiss last night. This is the feeling. Ah! I am a teenager. I’m falling in love. Falling in love with an angel and how lucky I am to be loved back with her. she is mine.  An angel who becomes an idol for a thousand girls and boys in the world.

Night is now darker. I imagine to have a great date with my angel. I… I kiss her. Why do the kiss have to be sweet like that? Because it is with the Angel. Hehehe I’m embarrassed.

Suddenly, I see a spark of fire behind my curtain. I jump off my bed and I open my curtain and I see a beautiful angel, my beautiful angel. My beautiful angle is burnt with fire. Ah! I scream. I open my window and go out from the window.

I run faster than I can to catch my angel. My angel is crying, trying to get a help from me. I grab her hands through the fire but I can’t catch her hands. I scream louder. I am frustrated.

“Oooh c’mon grab my hands. Don’t get burnt!!!” the fire is burning my hands but I don’t want to feel it for my angel’s sake until the next morning I open my eyes and see 6 pairs of eyes look at me with their masks. Ah! my hands are burning like hell. I am crying out loud. I see my mother in the corner. She is crying.

“Mother! Come here! Why did you stop me to save the angel?”

“Dayu, wake up sweety! There was no angle in the garden last night. There was nothing”

“Mother, I don’t want to be rude with you. But, this is my angel, she was getting ill and burnt and… where is she?” I try to get up but some hands hold me.

“Dayu, I don’t care with the angel was burnt or not but you were burnt. Your hands…”

“Mother! I prefer to not have you than I lose my angel” right after I say that words, my mother yells at me out loud

“you burned your self, you put the light to your hands, you brought the match from the kitchen, you burned your self. You burned your self”

My mother cries and goes out from the room. I? I am silent.

Leave a Reply

